Narrow Your Puppy Results

Questions About Animals?

Please let us know your name.
Please let us know your email address.
Invalid Input
Please write a subject for your message.
Please let us know your message.
Invalid Input

PLEASE HELP SUPPORT MOSTLY MUTTS BY CLICKING THE DONATE BUTTON BELOW!


TAKE IT A STEP FURTHER AND SETUP AN AUTOMATIC MONTHLY DONATION!

Monthly Support Options

 WE EVEN TAKE CHECKS! FOR DONATION!

Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoptions Inc. 3238 Cherokee Street Kennesaw, GA 30144

501(c)(3) nonprofit organization 

All or part of your gift may be tax deductible as a charitable contribution.  Please check with your tax advisor.

Tax ID 41-2142032

Please click the animals name to view their profile.

Previous

Heidi

Gender: Female
Breed: Beagle
Secondary Breed: Terrier
Status: Adoptable

A LOVING, SPECIAL NEEDS FRIEND: 12 years old / 15 lbs.

Hi, my name’s Heidi! I came from animal control to Mostly Mutts in bad shape. I had several unaddressed medical issues – heart issues, upper respiratory infection, in need of a dental cleaning, a polyp & mammary masses. I’m also hard of hearing but glad it’s improved a little since being rescued! Thanks to the folks at Mostly Mutts, my great foster family, good vet care & the Grey Muzzle Organization, I am on =the mend & long or short, I look forward to spending my later years in a loving home that all dogs deserve!

• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: I may be a bit too much ‘in your face & attention hog’ for some dogs & since I can’t hear very well, I don’t understand warning from other dogs, so if you have a patient dog that won’t mind my ‘what’s a boundary’ & ‘that’s my person’, we can meet. I like to be the dog in charge. The dog in my foster home is a saint & very tolerant of me. / I didn’t get along well with the cats in one of my foster homes, so I should not live with them. / I enjoy the company of the 6-year-old who visits my foster home, & I met a 10 year old at Mostly Mutts that I liked, so gentle kids around those ages could be good. Let’s meet!

• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: My life sure has turned around since being rescued & though I have medical challenges, I am a super sweet, curious, & affectionate girl. I am not super playful & would rather just out with my people – a true lap dog! I do tend to want to claim most of the attention from my people & am not very open to sharing it with other dogs. / My energy level is 4-6, & my foster said that I tend to match my person’s energy level, though due to my heart condition, it cannot be high.

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: Since I am hard of hearing foster sometimes uses hand signals to let me know what she wants or when I need redirecting. Gentle touches & small leash tugs seem to do the trick and my fosters will be happy to tell you about the hand signals. I should never be off leash as I don’t hear passing cars & may not hear my name being called. / I do NOT like the crate & will bark or howl for a long while to register my displeasure with it. Therefore, a condo or apartment would not be a good fit for me. My temp. foster let me sleep in her bed & that was wonderful – I even slept longer than in my regular foster home. Maybe you’d like me to sleep in bed with you? / My potty manners have been good in my foster home. I am on a heart medicine that makes me thirsty, so a good let out schedule (every 3-4 hours) is key to my potty skill success.

• LIKES/DISLIKES: I love my people & want to be wherever they are. I am up with the sun & enjoy following them around. I will chill with you on the couch as long as you want, & I love being under a blanket! I also love being rubbed & loved on! My walks are nice, but we don’t make them too long, due to my heart condition, but it is still nice to be out & about with my people. I can be a bit zig-zaggy on my leash, so watch your step & I may not be a good fit for anyone who is a fall risk. / I hate to be left alone, so a stay-at-home or work-from-home family member would suit me quite well. I am also uncomfortable with having my paws touched. Otherwise, I’m sure I wouldn’t like it if I didn’t get the love & attention on which I thrive!

• MEDICAL: I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped & spayed. I also needed a good dental cleaning which I received thanks to a grant from The Grey Muzzle Organization! I had 3 teeth pulled & was already missing some front bottom teeth, but I have most of my back & top teeth & can eat just fine! I have a heart murmur that has improved on 2 medications which I will need to stay on for life & have been diagnosed with cardiomyopathy & am on medication for that as well as an important water pill. I’m eating a low salt food which the vet prescribed, & I take an over-the-counter joint supplement to make my joints feel their best, as I have a luxating patella – not uncommon with smaller dogs & anti-inflammatory/pain medication which I should stay on. The vet did not want to remove the mammary mass due to my age, etc. but they think it's benign, so that’s good. I have an old, healed injury to my hip, but it doesn’t bother me too much.

I am looking for a loving home, long or short, with a wonderful family! My adoption fee is $100.00. I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.

 

  

 

 

Our Mission

The mission of Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoption, Inc. is to work closely with animal control officers and other rescue organizations to reduce the number of animals entering into and being euthanized at local shelters.  Mostly Mutts provides housing, health care, training, physical and emotional care to adoptable animals, while we work toward finding them a loving home.  Mostly Mutts is also involved in the community with education and awareness programs primarily in the Metro Atlanta Area