Narrow Your Puppy Results

Questions About Animals?

Please let us know your name.
Please let us know your email address.
Invalid Input
Please write a subject for your message.
Please let us know your message.
Invalid Input

PLEASE HELP SUPPORT MOSTLY MUTTS BY CLICKING THE DONATE BUTTON BELOW!


TAKE IT A STEP FURTHER AND SETUP AN AUTOMATIC MONTHLY DONATION!

Sponsor Options

 WE EVEN TAKE CHECKS! FOR DONATION!

Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoptions Inc. 3238 Cherokee Street Kennesaw, GA 30144

501(c)(3) nonprofit organization 

All or part of your gift may be tax deductible as a charitable contribution.  Please check with your tax advisor.

Tax ID 41-2142032

Please click the animals name to view their profile.

Previous

Luiz

Gender: Male
Breed: Shepherd
Secondary Breed: Mix
Status: Adoptable

‘ATLANTA UNITED’ THEMED FRIEND: 1 year old / Approx. 29 lbs. 

Thankfully, my brothers and I were picked up by animal control who then got us to Mostly Mutts so we could start our new lives. It appears that we were abandoned behind an apartment complex. We were all super skinny and missing about half of our fur due to lack of nutrition. Something clearly went wrong with our start in life, and we all need patient families, as normal doggie life is very new and will take some time to learn. I got to participate in the prison/foster training program and learned a lot!

• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: I love my siblings and have fun playing with them in the Mostly Mutts play yard. I’m the shyest, and think I’d do best in a home with another dog as I follow what the others do. I have now met several new dogs in the prison/foster training program and played well with all of them. In my foster home, I have shown some initial fear with new dogs and resource guarding. I am still learning how to read their signals and need time to acclimate to new situations. I think I would enjoy having a dog friend in my new home to build my confidence even more. / I get exuberant around the cats in my foster home, excited to try to play with the younger cat, but I have left the older cats alone. If you have a dog-friendly or dog-tolerant cat at home, let’s meet. / I haven’t met kids yet so let’s meet and best no young kids that I may bump over. Since I do like to play, my foster thinks I may enjoy an older calm child that will give me time to settle in and then play with me.

• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: My foster says I’m “wicked smart,” love to please and highly treat motivated, making training easy and fun! I am timid with new situations, and it takes some time for my full personality to shine through. I am very vocal when new people enter the room and very vocal with new dogs. I am very playful with toys and can entertain myself for hours with a variety of toys. I can be a little bit of an alpha personality. I need a human who will remind me that I am safe and that my person can handle the situation for me. With my alpha personality and fear, I will either "lash out" at the situation to let everyone know I am a tough boy, or I will shut down completely and run away/cower, but I am absolutely willing to put my faith in a human and allow them to handle things for me. If you come back to a room after being gone for a few hours, I need time to remember and will usually give some pretty big barks – sorry about that! Hopefully it will get better in time. There are still a lot of unknowns out there, so please be patient and let’s not rush into lots of new things right away. Mostly Mutts recommends relatively dog savvy folks to help me become the dog I was meant to be! I am not a first-time dog type of dog. / My energy level is currently 5 -7

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: So far, I have learned the ‘sit’, ‘down’, ‘come’, ‘leave it’, and ‘place’ commands. I also accept nice strangers without jumping on them. I’m looking for a family that will teach me everything else I need to know to become a well-trained and well-adjusted dog, so get ready for some training with your new best friend. / In my foster home, I do great in my crate with no accidents. I don’t destroy my blankets and I sleep nicely in my crate at night. / I’m doing well with my potty training on a good schedule, but I prefer to potty on concrete. I’ve only had a couple of accidents inside after I got overexcited during playtime. Hopefully, I will continue to be successful in my new home with consistency and encouragement.

• LIKES/DISLIKES: I’m interested in toys, especially squeaky toys and nyla bones . . . barking and growling at them – LOL. I like gentle spirited people. I like couch cuddles and sitting in my foster’s lap. Once I am comfortable with you, that’s where I want to be all the time! / I don’t want to be rushed into things, often barking at new people until I am comfortable. I’m sure I wouldn’t like it if I didn’t get enough love, attention, and training.

• MEDICAL: I'm current on my immunizations, micro-chipped and neutered.

I’m looking for a family that will love and be patient as I experience so many new things in life and know that I’m home and safe!! My adoption fee is $299.00, and I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.

 

  

 

 

Our Mission

The mission of Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoption, Inc. is to work closely with animal control officers and other rescue organizations to reduce the number of animals entering into and being euthanized at local shelters.  Mostly Mutts provides housing, health care, training, physical and emotional care to adoptable animals, while we work toward finding them a loving home.  Mostly Mutts is also involved in the community with education and awareness programs primarily in the Metro Atlanta Area