Narrow Your Puppy Results

Questions About Animals?

Please let us know your name.
Please let us know your email address.
Invalid Input
Please write a subject for your message.
Please let us know your message.
Invalid Input



Sponsor Options


Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoptions Inc. 3238 Cherokee Street Kennesaw, GA 30144

501(c)(3) nonprofit organization 

All or part of your gift may be tax deductible as a charitable contribution.  Please check with your tax advisor.

Tax ID 41-2142032

Please click the animals name to view their profile.



Gender: Male
Breed: Labrador
Secondary Breed: Terrier
Status: Adoptable
A GREAT DOG IN TRAINING:  3 years old / 60 lbs.
Hi, my name’s Oglethorpe! I came to Mostly Mutts from animal control & am grateful to be looking for my furever home now. I’m currently in the prison foster/training program offsite and learning so much! Please inquire at 770-272-6888 to find out when I’m available to meet. I’m looking for a dog savvy, confident owner who will be patient & give me the extra time I need to trust them.
• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: No dogs. I’ve met dogs at MM’s & though I wasn’t aggressive, and I did a play bow, my hair was raised & I was just unsure of what to do next.  / Cats unknown but unlikely / I’m looking for a home with much older children (ages 15+), as I met two children (ages 7 & 11) at Mostly Mutts & I jumped on them & was mouthy. I didn’t show aggression, but I don’t understand my size/strength.  I also have limits to how much petting & affection I want.  Kids should not walk me due to my dislike of other dogs.
• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: Similar to some cats, I crave physical touch/rubs in limited amounts, & when I’ve had enough, I let you know with a growl, or a look, or a bark, or I mouth the air.  Please leave me wanting more as I get used to more physical touch.  My trainer or the MM director will be happy to talk to you about this. I’m a bit socially awkward – not always knowing how to behave, but I’m working on it, I have a little stubborn streak at times too / My energy level is 6-8 so I’ll need regular exercise!
• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: I am a proud graduate of the Mostly Mutts University training program, & I know the ‘sit’, ‘stay’, ‘come’, ‘down’, ‘drop it’, ‘leave it’, & ‘go to your place’ commands as well as loose leash walking, proper door etiquette, and accepting friendly strangers without jumping. I also give my ‘paw’, but that one’s on my terms.  Sometimes if I’m agitated, I will chew on my leash – so perhaps a chain type leash would be best. Please keep a good hold of my leash as I have tried to chase motorcycles. I do not take treats gently, especially when I’m excited, so placing them on the ground is best – I mistook a volunteer’s hand as part of the cheese that she was giving me & bit it while taking the cheese, I’m sorry! / My crate manners are good at Mostly Mutts / I have good potty habits on the shelter schedule unless I drink too much water, so sometimes it needs to be limited or portioned.
• LIKES/DISLIKES: I love toys & balls but am possessive of them & don’t like them taken away or touched while I have them. I am working on that with my trainer. / I have some spatial sensitivity & don’t always like hands coming over my head or being touched on my back side, neck, tail & especially my paws.  (I am in training to desensitize these feelings).
• MEDICAL: I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped & neutered.
I am looking for a family that will be dedicated to my continued training & that will be active with me too!  My adoption fee is $299.00, & I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.



Our Mission

The mission of Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoption, Inc. is to work closely with animal control officers and other rescue organizations to reduce the number of animals entering into and being euthanized at local shelters.  Mostly Mutts provides housing, health care, training, physical and emotional care to adoptable animals, while we work toward finding them a loving home.  Mostly Mutts is also involved in the community with education and awareness programs primarily in the Metro Atlanta Area