Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/18/d608162863/htdocs/MostlyMuttsAnimalRescue/components/com_bt_portfolio/views/portfolio/tmpl/print.php on line 78

Rex

Gender: Male
Breed: Australian Shepherd
Secondary Breed: Shepherd
Status: Adoptable
A SWEET AND ACTIVE FELLOW:   1 year old / Approx. 40 lbs.
 
 
Hi there – my name is Rex! Mostly Mutts came & got me at animal control when I most needed a friend! I was adopted for a few months but had some conflicts with the other dog in the home (see below), so I’m looking for a new home.

• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: No dogs please. Though I’ve been polite during meet & greets with other dogs at Mostly Mutts, I guard my toys & have snapped at my fellow mutts over toys. I also had some scuffles with the dog I previously lived with over high value toys & bones. / Cats unknown / I have met kids at MM’s & kids 10+ could be a good fit for me. I’m still have some puppy behaviors & can be jumpy, so I wouldn’t want to bump younger kids over with my enthusiasm, so let’s meet.

• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: I am a very energetic guy who is super excited to play with my people. I am all about being petted & am very loving – giving lots of kisses! Though I am very active, I have my gentle side, too! / My energy level is 5-7+.

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: As a student in the Mostly Mutts University training program, I’ve learned ‘sit’, ‘come’, ‘drop it’, & accepting friendly strangers without jumping. I will be learning lots more, including polishing up my leash manners, which need some work. I take treats nicely, so my training should be fun for both of us / I have good crate manners at Mostly Mutts & in my former home, but it should be a large crate due to an old spine injury (see medical below) / I’m working on my potty manners as I do have a few accidents on the shelter schedule, however in the home I did much better.

• LIKES/DISLIKES: I love toys & don’t mind sharing them with my people during our fun play sessions. I am a real people lover & want to be with them as much as possible / I would not like being bored or not getting the attention & activity on which, I thrive!

• MEDICAL: I’ve had an evaluation by the vet due to having a very curved spine. They think it’s from an injury to the spine that I suffered in my past. I’ll need my family to do physical therapy with me at home, so it doesn’t get worse. Please ask for Mandy or Tammy for details. I don’t let it slow me down at all, so that’s wonderful! I’ll likely have early arthritis, so I’ve already started on Cosequin & should stay on it for life as well as staying at a nice slim/healthy weight. I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped & neutered.

I am looking for a loving home with a caring family to meet my needs. My adoption fee is $299.00, & I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.