Narrow Your Puppy Results

Questions About Animals?

Please let us know your name.
Please let us know your email address.
Invalid Input
Please write a subject for your message.
Please let us know your message.
Invalid Input



Monthly Support Options


Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoptions Inc. 3238 Cherokee Street Kennesaw, GA 30144

501(c)(3) nonprofit organization 

All or part of your gift may be tax deductible as a charitable contribution.  Please check with your tax advisor.

Tax ID 41-2142032

Please click the animals name to view their profile.



Gender: Female
Breed: Hound
Secondary Breed: Mix
Status: Adoptable

A SUPER SWEET LADY: 12 years old / 75 lbs.

Hi there, I’m Shelby! I was adopted 3 years ago, but my family had twins and are moving, and they felt that they didn’t have time to give to me anymore, so I’m back with Mostly Mutts looking for my furever family! I was a volunteer favorite when I returned and lived at the shelter and now I’m enjoying time in a wonderful foster home while I wait to find my new family!

• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: I met some dogs at Mostly Mutts and only liked the calm/mellow male dogs, so if you have a dog like this, let’s meet. My former family said that I didn’t care for the dogs I met while was with them. / Cats are a bit unknown as 3 years ago I was respectful of the shelter kitty, but of course a proper introduction would be in order. I also chased some kitties in a home I visited so I may initially chase. If you have a kitty, let’s meet. / I met a nice boy and girl around 10 years old at Mostly Mutts and loved them. I loved a class of 2nd graders that I got to visit. I also love the 4 year-old and 6 year-old girls in my current foster home. We get to do fun things like dress up as princesses and super heroes, and cuddle. Best no toddlers that I may bump over and let’s meet!

• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: My former family said that I was a great dog and I sure have been a hit since returning to MM’s. I love all the volunteers and was a model dog for a new foster training session. They called me a joy to be with as I walked around greeting all the people and working the crowd for lots of nice petting! My foster says I’m a quiet girl who loves everyone she meets, just a gentle giant. I’d love a family that has lots of time to hang out with me and one that wants to pet me a lot! I’m loving, sweet, and have a wonderful nature. Even though I’m a little stiff in my joints, I’m still a fun and very sweet girl. My foster said I “have a big heart” and I’d love to share it with you! / Energy level: 3-4.

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: I had graduated the Mostly Mutts University training program 3 years ago and I likely remember some of those commands. My temp. foster reported that I know the ‘sit’, ‘stay’, ‘down’, ‘come’, ‘leave it’, and ‘place’ commands, but need a little work on ‘drop it’ LOL. She also said I walked well on my leash, demonstrated proper door etiquette and greeted nice strangers without jumping. I am getting hard of hearing so my foster has started using some hand signals and that is working well. / I didn’t need a crate in my former home at all, so I likely won’t need one in my new home. I don’t need a crate in my current foster home. I just sleep nicely on a dog bed in their room at night. / My potty manners have been good as my former family reported that I am potty trained, I did well at Mostly Mutts and in my foster home too.

• LIKES/DISLIKES: I love being petted, playing with toys (especially the tug and squeaky types), hanging out with people, and showing them that I love them! I also love tennis balls and sticks! I was great for my bath, and I’d like to request a walk-in shower in my new home to make it easy for both of us. I think I’d like a home without a lot of stairs too since they are getting harder for me. My temporary foster had a nice ramp for her three deck stairs and I did great with that. I enjoy walks so let’s take some nice walks together! / Other than stairs, I can’t think of any dislikes but I’m sure I wouldn’t like it if I didn’t get enough love, attention, gentle exercise, and training.

• MEDICAL: I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped and spayed. I have multiple older lady lumps and bumps that don’t bother me, and I hope won’t bother you either – all just part of my charm. Since I’m an older girl, I have arthritis and get a little stiff after laying down for a bit. I’m on medication for that as well as a good joint supplement that is good for all older dogs. I’m also on a liver supplement. Just ask about any of this. I’m getting a little hard of hearing, but I follow some hand signals.

If you’re looking for an all-around great dog, and you have a heart for the older girls, come and meet me! My adoption fee is $100.00, and I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.





Our Mission

The mission of Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoption, Inc. is to work closely with animal control officers and other rescue organizations to reduce the number of animals entering into and being euthanized at local shelters.  Mostly Mutts provides housing, health care, training, physical and emotional care to adoptable animals, while we work toward finding them a loving home.  Mostly Mutts is also involved in the community with education and awareness programs primarily in the Metro Atlanta Area