Narrow Your Puppy Results

Questions About Animals?

Please let us know your name.
Please let us know your email address.
Invalid Input
Please write a subject for your message.
Please let us know your message.
Invalid Input



Sponsor Options


Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoptions Inc. 3238 Cherokee Street Kennesaw, GA 30144

501(c)(3) nonprofit organization 

All or part of your gift may be tax deductible as a charitable contribution.  Please check with your tax advisor.

Tax ID 41-2142032

Please click the animals name to view their profile.



Gender: Male
Breed: Bassett Hound
Secondary Breed: Shepherd
Status: Adoptable
AN ACTIVE / FUN PAL:  5.5 years old / Approx. 45 lbs.
Hi there, I’m Shorty!  I’ve had a run of unfortunate luck as of late – I was adopted and lost my home due to severe unexpected allergies and then lost my 2nd home due to needing some training and my family not having the proper time to put into that.  They said that if they had the time, they would have kept me.  They also reported that I bit a man who came into the home, but I don’t remember the details about that.    
• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: I met a few dogs at Mostly Mutts, and I wasn’t interested in them. I didn’t show any aggression, but I wasn’t interested in playing with them.  I have started playing with the little dog in my foster home, though, so if you have a friendly doggie let’s meet / No cats / A home with kids 15+ would be best for me as I’ve lived with kids and I think perhaps the commotion of younger kids wasn’t a good fit for me.  They said that I liked my personal space at times and that I played a bit rough – not in a mean way though.
• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL:  I’m a total lap dog though some say a bit big for that – LOL. I’d love a stay/work from home family member if possible, though I’ve done well in my foster home with a pet sitter checking in on me while my foster family is at work.  I’m energetic and playful, fun-loving and I seek out attention and love.  I “talk” a bit, so don’t think an apartment would be the best fit / My energy level is 6-8.
• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY:  I have very good leash manners and know the ‘sit’ and ‘down’ commands, proper door etiquette, and accepting friendly strangers without jumping. I’m working on ‘stay’ now.  My temp. foster mom said I minded well and came to her when she called for me. I didn’t get into anything I wasn’t supposed to or jump on the furniture, and I handled stairs well. I loaded easily into the car but seemed a little anxious while riding (I barked and breathed heavily while the car was moving) / I do well in my crate, but not for long times and previously I could be loud in it, so I’m not sure if I’m still loud when in my crate right now. I haven’t needed a crate in my foster home. / My potty manners have been great on the shelter schedule and in my foster home.
• LIKES/DISLIKES:   I love treats and am food motivated.  My former family says that I act like a puppy when the treats come out.  I also thrive on attention, going for walks, and hanging out with my people makes me the happiest. I also enjoyed running around in the fenced yard in my temp. foster home / In my former home, I didn’t like a lot of house guests.
• MEDICAL:   I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped and neutered.
I love being included on the family outings and I need regular exercise, so it that sounds good to you, come and meet me!!   My adoption fee is $299.00, and I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga. 





Our Mission

The mission of Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoption, Inc. is to work closely with animal control officers and other rescue organizations to reduce the number of animals entering into and being euthanized at local shelters.  Mostly Mutts provides housing, health care, training, physical and emotional care to adoptable animals, while we work toward finding them a loving home.  Mostly Mutts is also involved in the community with education and awareness programs primarily in the Metro Atlanta Area