Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/18/d608162863/htdocs/MostlyMuttsAnimalRescue/components/com_bt_portfolio/views/portfolio/tmpl/print.php on line 78

Aspen

Gender: Male
Breed: Boxer
Secondary Breed: Mix
Status: Adoptable

A BIG, LOVABLE SWEETHEART: 10 years old / 50 lbs.

Hi, I’m Aspen! I am an older guy who found myself at animal control, so I am super happy that Mostly Mutts rescued me & is going to introduce me to my furever family – hopefully soon!

• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: I enjoy the company of the dogs in my foster home & like to sniff them. I did accidentally sit on two of the smaller dogs (I have some weakness in my rear legs – see medical), so they have learned to watch when I’m coming to join the pack. Let’s meet! / I’m curious & tolerant of the kitties in my foster home – make sure we are introduced properly as I may frighten a kitty due to my size & desire to sniff them / I was very sweet with the two kids I met in my foster home (ages 4 & 7) & we snuggled on the couch, so if you have gentle children, lets meet, & best no toddlers that I may bump over or accidentally sit on.

• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: I am ‘super-duper sweet’ & love to follow my people around the home. I am very calm, loving, cuddly & easy going, but not very playful. I’d rather just soak up attention from my people. They call me a DOLL of a dog / My energy level is about 2-3.

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: My leash manners are good for a leisurely walk, & I ride well in the car. I also know ‘sit’ & ‘lay down’, but it takes me a minute to get into position due to my rear quarter weakness. I get around better on carpet & rugs vs wood or tile where I slip & slide. I can do stairs, but the fewer the better. In the morning I need a little help on them, but that’s the only time / I don’t mind hanging out in my XL crate when my foster family is at work, & at night I get to sleep in a dog bed next to my fosters’ bed & I like that a lot / My potty manners have been good in my foster home on a schedule, and I will pace at the door & sniff the leash to indicate that I need to go out. I can hold it in my crate during the day when my foster family is away, but I am having occasional accidents when I’m up & moving about & my foster family misses my signal to go potty. I’m fine wearing a belly band to help with those occasional accidents.

• LIKES/DISLIKES: I like food & am very happy at mealtime & I enjoy a treat. My favorite thing though is people & just being with them! I love to give kisses & snuggle up next to my person for some loving. In fact, if you sit on the floor with me I will find my place next to you & be content to just hang out & get lots of good petting / I don’t like being left alone since I am such a ‘people’ dog, so I would not like it if you were gone all day or I did not get enough love & attention.

• MEDICAL: I have started a medication called Proin that helps to strengthen my bladder muscles. I’m also taking Prednisone & Gabapentin as the vet suspects that I have some swelling in my disc/spine area that controls bladder & rear legs, & I’m already getting stronger. I’m hard of hearing but I do hear louder talking & clapping & I have some slight sight loss which is appropriate for my age. I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped & neutered.

I am looking for a sweet family to give me a loving home in my golden years! My adoption fee is $100.00, & I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.