Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/18/d608162863/htdocs/MostlyMuttsAnimalRescue/components/com_bt_portfolio/views/portfolio/tmpl/print.php on line 78

Chef

Gender: Male
Breed: Pointer
Status: Adoptable

LOOKING FOR A NICE CALM HOME:  11.5 years old / 49 lbs.

Hello! My name is Chef! I don’t attend most Saturday adoptions as it’s just too stressful for a sweet older guy like me, but some Saturdays I sit on the bench outside of MMs for a bit with my foster mom. Please call 770-272-6888 to see if I’ll be at adoptions. I was adopted as a puppy from Mostly Mutts and had a home for many years until – sadly – my beloved owner passed away. I had a few false starts to a new home - one moved, and another didn’t have time for me and it seems I wasn’t treated kindly as I’m a bit more nervous and flinch at things I didn’t before. Though I have had a bit of a journey, I just know the right home is out there for me – perhaps with YOU!

• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: I have liked dogs that I have met at the shelter and in my foster home and even lived with another dog at one point, so if you have a nice doggie, let’s meet / I should not live with cats, as I seem to view them as prey and will chase / I would probably do best in a home with older, calm teens, as young children’s fast movements make me anxious, and I have chased and nipped in the past.

• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: I am loving and – though older – quite playful. Initially, I could be possessive of my one favorite person, but my trainer and I worked on this and this behavior soon diminished. Then, I was playing and frolicking with all the family members in my foster home / My energy level is 4-6.

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: I’m a smart guy who knew the ‘sit’, ‘stay’, ‘down’, ‘come’, ‘leave it’, ‘drop it’, & ‘go to your place’ commands as well as accepting nice strangers without jumping & waiting at doors before going in/out on command. I’ll be retested on these commands soon since I have just come back to MM’s. / I didn’t like being in a crate at the shelter, as having people standing it made me nervous and I barked at the folks that did stand over me. I did not need a crate in my previous foster home / I have had good potty habits on the shelter schedule and in my previous foster home, so hopefully that will be the case in my new home.

• LIKES/DISLIKES: I love to snuggle up to my people on the couch & give them doggie kisses. I also enjoy walks and playing fetch. I even have a favorite toy that I carry everywhere – so cute! / I don’t like a chaotic environment – perhaps because I have lived the majority of my life in a calm home with one person.

• MEDICAL: I have a fatty mass on my leg that the vet looked at and wasn’t concerned – they just said to keep an eye on it. They also said I am in great shape for a fellow my age, so yay me! I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped and neutered.

I am looking for a calm, loving family (or person) who will welcome a sweet senior into their home where I can live my golden years surrounded by love! My adoption fee is $100.00, and I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.