Narrow Your Furbaby Results

Questions About Animals?

Please let us know your name.
Please let us know your email address.
Invalid Input
Please write a subject for your message.
Please let us know your message.
Invalid Input



Monthly Support Options


Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoptions Inc. 3238 Cherokee Street Kennesaw, GA 30144

501(c)(3) nonprofit organization 

All or part of your gift may be tax deductible as a charitable contribution.  Please check with your tax advisor.

Tax ID 41-2142032



Gender: Female
Breed: Bull Dog
Secondary Breed: Shepherd
Status: Adoptable

A PLAYFUL CUDDLER: 1 year old / 30 lbs.

Hi, my name is Charlene! I came to Mostly Mutts from animal control, and I am so thankful that Mostly Mutts decided to make me part of their rescue family. I’ve spent some time in several short-break foster homes, as well as time at the shelter charming the volunteers, and I am ready to be someone’s great companion! I got to participate in the prison/foster training program and learned a lot!

• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: I get along well with the three dogs (large and small) in my foster home and would give ‘play bow’ to say I wanted to play. In another home I got to visit, I liked to chase and rough house with the dogs. I am also a handsy player and some dogs may not like this. I have responded fairly well to dog cues, but don’t like to be corrected harshly by another dog. So, if you have a playful dog already, let’s meet! I am a bit protective of my food and bones, so best to feed me separately from other doggies in the home and no bones when we’re together. My foster said I am good about sharing toys. / I have been in the same area as the cats in my foster home and did not seek them out, but have not officially met them yet. Stay tuned. I am a bit too focused on the rat in my foster home. / I met a nice boy and a girl around 10 years old at Mostly Mutts and liked them. I ran after them when they ran, so a home with kids ages 15 and up could be a good fit for me. Let’s meet!

• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: I am a super sweet, young girl with a friendly and playful nature. I’m just not a fan of big crowds. In play mode, I am engaged and fun, then – when it is time to chill with my people, I am calm and ready to snuggle and nap … in my person’s lap, with the other dogs or on my own. I have the ability to jump a 5 foot fence when I am motivated, i.e. chasing a bunny, so please keep an eye on me and a 6+ foot fence may be best in my new home. Another foster said I do not have an off switch and just want to play, play, play with my dog friends so I may need separation time to rest. I get excited to run hard when we play, so if you hardwood floors, be forewarned that this can sometimes seem like bowling with Charlene, LOL. My fosters are giving me puzzles to help with stimulation and help me to channel my energy in an appropriate way. Please ask my trainer about this. / My energy level is 6-8.

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: I’m a member of the Mostly Mutts University training program and have already learned the ‘sit’, ‘stay’, ‘down’, ‘come’, and ‘leave it’ commands. I sometimes bark at other dogs or strangers who come close when I am on my leash, but please tell me to ‘leave it’ and I can be redirected easily. My foster said I am improving in this area. I also lunge at some cars, especially loud trucks, so please aware, since I am strong. I like treats so my continued training can be fun and yummy! I am using an easy harness at the shelter now which the volunteers say is helping me walk much better. My trainer is also trying a gentle leader to see which may be better for me. Please ask about this. / My crate manners are fine at the shelter. In my foster home, I sleep fine in it in their bedroom and was fine when I was crated in the main part of the house, where the people hang out. But I broke out of it in any other room (both the metal and plastic types). Another foster said I whined for 15 minutes, then settled. So, you may just need to see where I’m comfortable being crated in my new home. I also do great sleeping in bed with you all through the night if you’ll let me! / I've been having some accidents, so please continue to be consistent with me on a good schedule, so I can master my potty skills. One foster said I’m about 75% potty-trained and thought I may need more frequent visits outside. Another foster said that I am prioritizing play over potty in the yard so she is keeping me leashed until I have done my business and that is helping.

• LIKES/DISLIKES: I love cuddling with humans and dogs, Nylabones, bully sticks, tug toys and floppy toys that I can shake. I also like to play fetch, run around in the yard and rough-house with the dogs. I also like to lay in the sun. I’m great for my baths and my bather said I have the softest, short velvety fur — bonus for you! / I don’t like the rain, some louder cars, being crated in some areas when left alone, or big crowds. Other than that, I’m sure I wouldn’t like it if I didn’t get enough love, attention, exercise, and training.

• MEDICAL: I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped and spayed.

I am looking for a loving home with a wonderful family! My adoption fee is $299.00, and I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.





Our Mission

The mission of Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoption, Inc. is to work closely with animal control officers and other rescue organizations to reduce the number of animals entering into and being euthanized at local shelters.  Mostly Mutts provides housing, health care, training, physical and emotional care to adoptable animals, while we work toward finding them a loving home.  Mostly Mutts is also involved in the community with education and awareness programs primarily in the Metro Atlanta Area