Narrow Your Furbaby Results

Questions About Animals?

Please let us know your name.
Please let us know your email address.
Invalid Input
Please write a subject for your message.
Please let us know your message.
Invalid Input

PLEASE HELP SUPPORT MOSTLY MUTTS BY CLICKING THE DONATE BUTTON BELOW!


TAKE IT A STEP FURTHER AND SETUP AN AUTOMATIC MONTHLY DONATION!

Monthly Support Options

 WE EVEN TAKE CHECKS! FOR DONATION!

Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoptions Inc. 3238 Cherokee Street Kennesaw, GA 30144

501(c)(3) nonprofit organization 

All or part of your gift may be tax deductible as a charitable contribution.  Please check with your tax advisor.

Tax ID 41-2142032

Previous

Huckleberry

Gender: Male
Breed: Terrier
Secondary Breed: Mix
Status: Adoptable

A REAL SWEETHEART: 5 Years old / 26 lbs.

Hi, my name is Huckleberry! I had a home, but my family could no longer keep me. I don’t know why that was, but they did say that I should not live around chickens or cats, so perhaps that had something to do with it. Mostly Mutts agreed to help me find a new family, and I sure am glad because I was not kept on heartworm prevention, so I have heart worms. Thankfully, I’ll be treated for them, and I hope to be in my furever home before I start that treatment.

• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: I recently met dogs at Mostly Mutts, and I was friendly with them. If you have a nice doggie at home already, let’s meet and see if we can be pals. / My former owner said I should not live with cats. / I met a nice boy and girl around 10 years old at Mostly Mutts and liked them! I also enjoyed spending time with a nice group of teenagers that visited MM and my former owner said that I liked kids too, so if you have kids age 10+, let’s meet!

• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: I am a super sweet guy who is affectionate, friendly, and loving. I am all about people and love spending time with them. I got to serve as a Mostly Mutts ambassador recently when a group of teens came to tour the shelter. I really enjoyed spending time with them, showing off all the skills I have learned and giving and accepting lots of love. I’m also known as an amazing front desk helper, so well behaved and not one bark! I have heard the volunteers say that I am such a charming little guy. My activity level is very limited right now due to the severity of the heartworms, so chill time and just a walk out to potty and back are best for me right now. I do have a gentle nature, so this should help me with the limited activity. My cute tail wags are evidence that I am a happy guy. I am playful and look forward to being able to have great play sessions once my HW treatment is complete. / My energy level is 5 - 7, though I must be kept calmer until I’ve completed all of my heartworm treatment.

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: I’m a new member in the Mostly Mutts University Training program and have already mastered the ‘sit’, ‘down’, ‘come’ and ‘stay’ commands. I also use proper door etiquette and have good leash manners as well as accept nice strangers without jumping. I bet you can teach me even more! / My crate manners are good at Mostly Mutts. / I’m having some accidents on the shelter schedule as I was not previously taught inside potty manners, and the medication I’m taking to start my heartworm treatment makes me drink extra water and need frequent potty breaks. So, I’ll need you to help me learn this please.

• LIKES/DISLIKES: I love attention, and – since I am on limited activity right now, I love to spend time sitting on the benches outside at the shelter with my walkers just watching the day go by. Laps are just the best, and the volunteers say I would stay there for hours, if possible – lol. I enjoy all the pets and rubbing, so bath time was a treat for me. Toys are also so much fun and I enjoy chewing on all types of toys and bones. / I don’t need to live in a home with chickens or cats, as apparently we don’t get along. Otherwise, I’m sure I wouldn’t like it if I didn’t get enough love, attention, proper care, and training.

• MEDICAL: I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped and neutered. Sadly, I wasn't kept on heartworm prevention in my previous home, so I'm HW positive which makes me cough a bit. The good news is that I'll be treated for that in a few months and Mostly Mutts will cover the cost of that treatment with their vet, so local adoption please. Also, please keep me on flea prevention as I came in with flea bite reactions on my back and the tips of my ears.

I am looking for a loving family to see me through my heartworm treatment and give a great home for life! My adoption fee is $299.00, and I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.

 

  

 

 

Our Mission

The mission of Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoption, Inc. is to work closely with animal control officers and other rescue organizations to reduce the number of animals entering into and being euthanized at local shelters.  Mostly Mutts provides housing, health care, training, physical and emotional care to adoptable animals, while we work toward finding them a loving home.  Mostly Mutts is also involved in the community with education and awareness programs primarily in the Metro Atlanta Area