Narrow Your Furbaby Results

Questions About Animals?

Please let us know your name.
Please let us know your email address.
Invalid Input
Please write a subject for your message.
Please let us know your message.
Invalid Input

PLEASE HELP SUPPORT MOSTLY MUTTS BY CLICKING THE DONATE BUTTON BELOW!


TAKE IT A STEP FURTHER AND SETUP AN AUTOMATIC MONTHLY DONATION!

Sponsor Options

 WE EVEN TAKE CHECKS! FOR DONATION!

Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoptions Inc. 3238 Cherokee Street Kennesaw, GA 30144

501(c)(3) nonprofit organization 

All or part of your gift may be tax deductible as a charitable contribution.  Please check with your tax advisor.

Tax ID 41-2142032

Previous

Java

Gender: Female
Breed: Labrador
Secondary Breed: Mix
Status: Adoptable
LOOKING FOR ADVENTURE:  10 years young / 32 lbs.
 
Hi, my name’s Java! I came to Mostly Mutts from animal control, and then I participated in the prison foster/training program where I learned lots and had a blast. Now I can’t wait to start having lots of fun with my new family!

• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: I’d like to be your only dog. I didn’t like the other dogs I met at Mostly Mutts, and I showed this by avoiding them and growling at them. My trainer is working with me on this, and I’ve been fine near other dogs on hikes and at MM events (as close as 1 foot away), but I do not like when they try to interact with me, so I shouldn’t live with another dog. / Cats unknown / I’m looking for a home with no kids as I didn’t like it when the two kids I met at Mostly Mutts (ages 7 & 11) ran around and were active near me, so I lunged on my leash a bit.

• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: Don’t let my age fool you, as I am a fun-loving gal who is active and energetic. I am quite curious and like to travel with my nose to the ground, so be ready to explore with me when we are out and about! I am social and prefer being with people than in my room at the shelter. I also tend to bark when I want one of my toys to play with! / Energy level 4-6.

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: I’m a proud graduate of the Mostly Mutts University training program and know the ‘sit’, ‘stay’, ‘come’, ‘down’, ‘drop it’, ‘leave it’, and ‘go to your place’ commands, loose leash walking, proper door etiquette, and accepting friendly strangers without jumping. I bet you can teach me even more too! I load nicely into the car, so let’s ride / I was well-mannered in my room by myself at the prison foster/training program, which is great, as the crate is not my favorite place. / My potty habits are good on the shelter schedule.

• LIKES/DISLIKES:  I like to check out my environment – searching and sniffing, as well as spending time with my people.  The more things for me to do, the better as I enjoy fun! / I don’t like it when people lean over me. I’m affectionate, but I do like my space, and people leaning over me is just not something I’m into.

• MEDICAL: I have a slightly dropped right tarsus, but the vet said it doesn’t need treatment, feel free to ask about that. I’m on Cosequin as older dogs should be. I had some itchy/irritated skin and took an allergy medication called Apoquel for a while. I’m off of it now as we’re running a trial to see if I can stay off. I had a dental, so my teeth are nice and clean. I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped and spayed.

I am looking for an active family who will dedicate time to my continued training and share lots of adventures with me! My adoption fee is $199.00 (originally $299 but a generous volunteer who loves me paid $100), and I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.

 

 

Our Mission

The mission of Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoption, Inc. is to work closely with animal control officers and other rescue organizations to reduce the number of animals entering into and being euthanized at local shelters.  Mostly Mutts provides housing, health care, training, physical and emotional care to adoptable animals, while we work toward finding them a loving home.  Mostly Mutts is also involved in the community with education and awareness programs primarily in the Metro Atlanta Area