Narrow Your Furbaby Results

Questions About Animals?

Please let us know your name.
Please let us know your email address.
Invalid Input
Please write a subject for your message.
Please let us know your message.
Invalid Input

PLEASE HELP SUPPORT MOSTLY MUTTS BY CLICKING THE DONATE BUTTON BELOW!


TAKE IT A STEP FURTHER AND SETUP AN AUTOMATIC MONTHLY DONATION!

Sponsor Options

 WE EVEN TAKE CHECKS! FOR DONATION!

Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoptions Inc. 3238 Cherokee Street Kennesaw, GA 30144

501(c)(3) nonprofit organization 

All or part of your gift may be tax deductible as a charitable contribution.  Please check with your tax advisor.

Tax ID 41-2142032

Previous

Josef

Gender: Male
Breed: Shepherd
Secondary Breed: Mix
Status: Adoptable

‘ATLANTA UNITED’ THEMED FRIEND: 1 year old / Approx. 23 lbs. & needs to gain more weight

Thankfully, my brothers and I were picked up by animal control who then got us to Mostly Mutts so we could start our new lives. It appears that we were abandoned behind an apartment complex. We were all super skinny and missing about half of our fur due to lack of nutrition. I’m in a great foster home working on learning about normal doggie life and doing great!

• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: I love my siblings and had fun playing with them in the Mostly Mutts play yard before going into my foster home. I must be fed separately from other dogs due to the emaciated state from which I came. I need to learn that my food is for me and readily available ongoing. It seems that nothing has ever belonged to me, so I’ve had a few scuffles over toys with my siblings. I’ll need you to monitor this if you have another dog. There isn’t another dog in my foster home, but I met the neighbor’s dog once on a walk and we both did some sniffing with wagging tails and I seemed very receptive to meet, so let’s meet. / Cats unknown / I met my foster’s 9 year old grandson and came right up to him being friendly and receptive to interacting with him, so if you have kids around that age, lets meet and best no toddlers that I may bump over.

• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: At Mostly Mutts, I’m one of the most social and trusting dogs of my littermates. My foster mom says I’m loving, sweet, cuddly and smart—always wanting to be with (or on) you. I climbed into the volunteers’ laps and gave them lots of kisses to show my thankfulness for their kindness. I was very good for the medicated baths I needed when I first came to Mostly Mutts so bath time should be a breeze when I need it. I’m a bit mouthy with toys right now as I just don’t know better yet – but I’ll learn. I have destroyed some things I should not have chewed, and even chewed on the furniture a few times, but my foster mom trades out something I should have when she sees this happening. Please have lots of strong chew toys/antlers for me in my new home and be patient with me as I learn what is mine and what is yours. Now that I’m in a foster home, I’ve experienced lots of doggy ‘firsts’, like stairs, new toys, neighborhood walks, and just being happy in a comfy doggie bed. I met a neighbor recently and once he got down on my level, I let him give me a few treats and pets. There are still a lot of unknowns out there, so please be patient and let’s not rush into lots of new things right away. I am not a first-time dog type of dog. / Right now, my energy level is 4-6 but my foster thinks it will go up a bit more.

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: In my foster home, I know the ‘sit’ command and I’m getting really good at ‘stay’, ‘leave-it’, and I’m improving my leash walking. I still weave back and forth in front of my foster mom a bit when we go for walks. I have been easily spooked by noises and too many people, so we are practicing walking in the quieter evening times. I’m up to about ¼ mile at a time now! I’m very good at sitting nicely while waiting to be fed and waiting seated at doors before we go in and out. I’m very interested in food and highly treat motivated which will help with my training. So, I’m looking for a family that will teach me everything I need to know to become a well-trained and well-adjusted dog - get ready for some training with your new best friend! / In my foster home I sleep in my crate through the night and am in it for short periods of time during the day. I whine a bit, but settle down within a few minutes and I keep it clean, too. / Potty training was new to me when I was rescued, but I’m doing well in my foster home as I’m taken out every 1 – 2 hours during the day with rewards, so I’m learning fast! Please keep me on a good schedule so I’ll do well for you, too.

• LIKES/DISLIKES: I like toys, people, food, and treats. My foster uses a slow feeder bowl as I do eat super-fast likely due to my former circumstances. / I’m leery of outside with the motorcycles/loud vehicles and other noises that are scary to me so keep a good hold of my leash as I wouldn’t want to get lost or hurt. Other than that, I’m sure I wouldn’t like it if I didn’t get enough love, attention, and training, or if I was rushed into new situations too fast.

• MEDICAL: I'm current on my immunizations, micro-chipped and neutered.

I’m looking for a family that will love and be patient as I experience so many new things in life and know that I’m home and safe! My adoption fee is $299.00, and I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.

 

  

 

 

Our Mission

The mission of Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoption, Inc. is to work closely with animal control officers and other rescue organizations to reduce the number of animals entering into and being euthanized at local shelters.  Mostly Mutts provides housing, health care, training, physical and emotional care to adoptable animals, while we work toward finding them a loving home.  Mostly Mutts is also involved in the community with education and awareness programs primarily in the Metro Atlanta Area