Narrow Your Furbaby Results

Questions About Animals?

Please let us know your name.
Please let us know your email address.
Invalid Input
Please write a subject for your message.
Please let us know your message.
Invalid Input



Sponsor Options


Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoptions Inc. 3238 Cherokee Street Kennesaw, GA 30144

501(c)(3) nonprofit organization 

All or part of your gift may be tax deductible as a charitable contribution.  Please check with your tax advisor.

Tax ID 41-2142032



Gender: Female
Breed: Shepherd
Secondary Breed: Beagle
Status: Adoptable

A HAPPY / LOVING LADY:  4 years old / 41 lbs.  Mostly Mutts adoption center is open Mon-Sat. 11-4pm.  Some of us are in foster homes so please call 770-272-6888 1st to find out if I’m available to meet during the week.  Hi, my name is Tara!  I am a sweet, calm girl who is happy to share my love with the nice volunteers that are looking after me.  Never mind my 41 pounds as I crawl nicely into your lap for some petting! LOL  I will reward you with the best kisses ever.  I was a bit shy when first rescued, but I am quickly learning that this a great place along my journey to my furever home. Sometimes I duck/flinch when things go over my head, but I think this will subside as I experience more love and build trust in people. I think you will enjoy being out and about with me, and I have good leash manners. Just keep a good hold of my leash as I have been known to give chase when I see a squirrel or a leaf blowing in the wind. I love treats, so the volunteers feel I will be easy and fun to train.  That’s a good thing as I’ve just enrolled in the Mostly Mutts training program, and I’ve already mastered the ‘sit’ and ‘stay’ commands and loose leash walking. Stay tuned to see what else I’ve learned!  I like toys, but they don’t interest me as much as people.  Basically, your attention is what I will thrive on!  My potty manners have been very good on the shelter schedule and were also great in my temp. foster home (I stood at the door and whined when I needed to go out), so hopefully that will be the case in my new home too. I did pretty well in my crate in my temp. foster home, but I did bark when I could sense my hosts were nearby because I wanted to be with them. I’m a little nervous riding in the car, but that may change when I learn that car rides can lead to fun places. I don’t like to feel trapped such as in a narrow hallway or under a table with the chairs pushed in. I did growl at the two young girls (ages 4 & 6) in my temp. foster home when they approached me in tight space like this. I loved my young human foster sisters, and I really enjoyed snuggling with them, but a home with children ages 10 and up would be better for me. I accidentally made contact with the older girl’s leg when trying to get a toy (didn’t break the skin), and I low growled and nipped at the heels of the younger girl when I came home from a walk with my foster mom. She had changed her clothes and hairstyle, so I’m not sure if I didn’t recognize her or if I was being protective of my foster mom as my bond was strongest with her. I met a few dogs at the MM facility, and I liked the males but not the females. I may enjoy having a doggie friend in my furever home as long as it’s a male dog, I shouldn’t live with a female dog. If you have a nice male dog at home, let’s just meet to see if we can be pals! Energy level: 4-6. I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped, spayed, and my adoption fee is $299.00 which also includes an engraved name tag, Martingale collar and leash.


Our Mission

The mission of Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoption, Inc. is to work closely with animal control officers and other rescue organizations to reduce the number of animals entering into and being euthanized at local shelters.  Mostly Mutts provides housing, health care, training, physical and emotional care to adoptable animals, while we work toward finding them a loving home.  Mostly Mutts is also involved in the community with education and awareness programs primarily in the Metro Atlanta Area