Narrow Your Furbaby Results

Questions About Animals?

Please let us know your name.
Please let us know your email address.
Invalid Input
Please write a subject for your message.
Please let us know your message.
Invalid Input

PLEASE HELP SUPPORT MOSTLY MUTTS BY CLICKING THE DONATE BUTTON BELOW!


TAKE IT A STEP FURTHER AND SETUP AN AUTOMATIC MONTHLY DONATION!

Sponsor Options

 WE EVEN TAKE CHECKS! FOR DONATION!

Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoptions Inc. 3238 Cherokee Street Kennesaw, GA 30144

501(c)(3) nonprofit organization 

All or part of your gift may be tax deductible as a charitable contribution.  Please check with your tax advisor.

Tax ID 41-2142032

Previous

Thurgood

Gender: Male
Breed: Dachshund
Status: Adoptable

A 'GO WITH THE FLOW' GUY: 10 years old / 12 lbs.

Hello - my name is Thurgood! I'm a sweet fellow who sadly lived my whole life as a breeder dog. Now that I'm older and no longer valuable to the breeder, I have to go. Thankfully Mostly Mutts came to my rescue and will help me find a loving home to live the rest of my days in luxury, love and comfort! Perhaps with you?

• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: I like the dogs I came to Mostly Mutts with and all the dogs I've met in my foster home! I pal around with them nicely so if you have a friendly dog at home, let's meet / I am interested in but respectful of the kitty in my foster home, so if you have a dog- friendly cat, let's meet / I am indifferent to the 10-year-old in my foster home and am not really interested in a child playmate. I doubt I would do well in a home with kids running around or wanting me to play with them, and best no very young kids that may fall on me.

• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: I am very laid back unless you leave the home (see dislikes below) and I seem to be a 'go with the flow' type of guy. When my foster sits somewhere, I do too. When my foster is up and about, so am I. I don't seem particularly interested in new people when they are around, but I like my family for sure. My foster describes me as 'a casual, hanging out fellow' who wants nothing more than to be with my people! In fact, I think that I'll be happiest in a home with someone who is home most of the time / My energy level is 4-6.

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: I don't know any skills right now, but perhaps you can teach me some great doggie commands / My crate manners have been good in my foster home, as I keep it clean and sleep there overnight / My potty habits need work, as I am having accidents in my foster home. They are working with me on this and currently using a belly band so I cannot mark or tinkle in the home. Due to my lifetime of being a breeder dog, this will take time and I may or may not totally master it.

• LIKES/DISLIKES: I love to have a blanket to burrow under. I also like small toys to play with, and I really enjoy being outside with my family / I do not like being alone at all. If it is a very short time or a longer time, my foster reports that I jump up and down barking the entire time (so no apartment or condo type home for me please). I'm on an anxiety medication now and I hope it will start to help soon.

• MEDICAL: I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped and will be neutered in 6-9 months now that I completed my heart worm treatment in May 2021. Mostly Mutts will cover the cost of my neuter if done at their vet, so local adoption only. I don't have any teeth left, but that's ok with me as I pick my food up with my tongue to eat. My tongue also hangs out of my mouth a lot since I don’t have teeth. I may need to stay on the anxiety medication for life, we're not sure yet.

I am looking for a loving home with a wonderful family! My adoption fee is $299.00, and I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.

 

  

 

 

Our Mission

The mission of Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoption, Inc. is to work closely with animal control officers and other rescue organizations to reduce the number of animals entering into and being euthanized at local shelters.  Mostly Mutts provides housing, health care, training, physical and emotional care to adoptable animals, while we work toward finding them a loving home.  Mostly Mutts is also involved in the community with education and awareness programs primarily in the Metro Atlanta Area