Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/18/d608162863/htdocs/MostlyMuttsAnimalRescue/components/com_bt_portfolio/views/portfolio/tmpl/print.php on line 78

Gertrude

Gender: Female
Breed: Labrador
Secondary Breed: Hound
Status: Adoptable

FUN, ACTIVE AND READY TO LEARN! - 2 years old / 55 lbs.

Hello!  My name is Gertrude.  I came to Mostly Mutts when my family (only had me for 4 months) realized that I was a bit too much doggie for them.  I’ll be a great dog for a family that wants to be active with their furry friend (that will have to be after my Heart worm treatment – see medical below) & enjoys training them too! I am currently in the prison foster/training program offsite & learning so much! Please inquire at 770-272-6888 to find out when I’m available to meet.     
 
• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS:  I met a few dogs at Mostly Mutts & in the prison/foster program & I played well with the dogs I’ve met, though am known to be a bit of a rough player, so let’s meet if you have other dogs! / Cats unknown / I got to meet a few kids (10+) at Mostly Mutts & did well with them, but I did get a little jumpy when they ran, so much excitement! So, if you have kids around that age, let’s meet as I’m a big girl who sometimes doesn’t realize my size.
 
• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL:  I am a sweet, affectionate & playful girl.  I am quite curious & let my nose lead me on my walks.  I am very active & need my energy channeled into learning all I need to know to be a great companion / My energy level is high at 6-8.  Perhaps we could try some thinking toys since I can’t be overly physically active right now. 
 
• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY:  I am a graduate of the Mostly Mutts University training program! This means that I have mastered the following commands: ‘sit’, ‘down’, ‘stay’, ‘come’, ‘drop-it’, ‘leave it’, ‘place’, loose leash walking on a gentle leader harness, proper door etiquette, and accepts friendly strangers without jumping. Also, please don’t leave me unattended in the yard until you know I won’t try to dig out. / My crate manners are good at Mostly Mutts and in the prison/foster program. Some nights my prison/foster human roommates let me sleep in the bed and I stay put and keep watch. / I have good on potty habits on the shelter schedule & in prison/foster program as well!
 
• LIKES/DISLIKES:  I love people & will choose them over toys any day.  I want to be wherever they are & don’t hesitate to jump up on a chair to be as close as possible.  I adore affection & will engage with toys if a person is involved.  Also, please have lots of sturdy chew toys for me as I do like to chew / I do get scared around new people and new smells- I am just learning and adjusting to the environments I am being exposed to, which I am thankful for. I also wouldn’t like it if I didn’t get the training, exercise & attention I crave.
 
• MEDICAL:  I wasn’t previously kept on a heartworm preventative, so I am heartworm positive.  Mostly Mutts will cover my treatment with their vet, so local adoption only, please.  I hope to be in my furever home when treatment starts!  I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped & spayed.
 
I am looking for a loving & active family committed to my continued training & to meeting my exercise needs.  My adoption fee is $299.00, & I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.