Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/18/d608162863/htdocs/MostlyMuttsAnimalRescue/components/com_bt_portfolio/views/portfolio/tmpl/print.php on line 78

Hamby

Gender: Male
Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
Secondary Breed: Mix
Status: Adoptable

AN ACTIVE AND FRIENDLY FELLOW:  4 years old / 21 lbs.  Mostly Mutts adoption center is open Mon-Sat. 11-4pm.  Some of us are in foster homes so please call 770-272-6888 1st to find out if I’m available to meet during the week.  Hi there, my name is Hamby!  I’m an energetic and affectionate fellow who also loves being a lap dog and getting as much cuddle time as I can.  I get so excited when I see my person that my whole-body wiggles with joy and I dance on my hind legs to greet them!  I like to hang out on the couch with my foster mom in the evenings which is nice for both of us.  There are 2 dogs in my foster home, and we get along fine, I’ve even played a little bit with one of them. I also met a few dogs at MM’s and liked them, so if you have a nice doggie at home let’s meet to see if we can be buddies. There’s a kitty too, he frightened me a bit at first, but now we coexist nicely. One thing is for sure – I love being with my people! I’ve realized that toys are a great way for us to spend time together, and I’m catching on quickly to this game called fetch. I like to chew on bones too. Even so, toys can’t give belly rubs, and those are my favorite!   For a good belly rub, I will thank you with lots of kisses.  I came to Mostly Mutts with an itchy skin irritation, but the medicated baths I’m receiving are helping me feel much better.  The volunteers noticed that I have some anxiety that includes a lot of panting, so I’ve started a medication called Trazadone the help with this.  I’m continuing it in my foster home, but we’re not sure if I’ll need to stay on it, or if I can be weaned once I’m fully settled in my new home. I am a pretty smart dude who has already mastered ‘sit’, ‘come’, and loose leash walking as a student in the Mostly Mutts University training program. I can’t wait to learn even more! I enjoy my walks with my foster mom, and I like to take slow strolls and enjoy the views and smells. Let's take shorter walks as long walks tire me out (this may be due to the medication I’m on, but we’re not sure).  I’m becoming more and more comfortable with my crate training each day, and I bark a bit initially but then settle in nicely until you get home. I’ve also learned to go to my crate when asked. Overall, I’m a pretty low-key, easygoing guy, but I do bark a bit when I’m excited (when my people come home, when I know I’m about to go “outside” or for a walk, and at mealtime), so best no apartment/condo type home please.  My potty habits were very good on the shelter schedule, and I’ve had just a few initial accidents in my foster home, so once I’m all settled in, hopefully they will be great. I LOVE kids and have done really well with the kids I’ve met in my foster parents’ neighborhood.  They are around 5-7 years old, so kids in my furever home could be fun! Best no small children that I may bump over and of course, let’s meet.  Energy level: 5-7. I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped, neutered, and my adoption fee is $299.00 which also includes an engraved name tag, Martingale collar and leash.