Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/18/d608162863/htdocs/MostlyMuttsAnimalRescue/components/com_bt_portfolio/views/portfolio/tmpl/print.php on line 78

Jack

Gender: Male
Breed: Shepherd
Secondary Breed: Mix
Status: Adoptable

A GENTLE & SWEET OLDER FELLOW:  10 years old / 48 lbs.   Mostly Mutts adoption center is open Mon-Sat. 11-4pm.  Some of us are in foster homes so please call 770-272-6888 1st to find out if I’m available to meet during the week.  Hi, my name is Jack!  I’m a gentle older guy with a sweet disposition.  My favorite part of the day is when the volunteers come by to take me outside & spend time with me. I’m very affectionate – giving kisses & warming up to you for some petting is always on my schedule. I LOVE to go for walks, so a leisurely stroll with you is always on my schedule as well! I’m a student in the Mostly Mutts University training program, & I’ve already mastered the ‘paw’ command, loose leash walking, proper door etiquette, & accepting nice strangers without jumping. I look forward to learning lots more, check back soon to see my progress!  I have good potty habits on the shelter schedule, & my potty manners were excellent in both of my temp. foster homes. I was a wonderful house guest in general. I’m happy to go in the crate for a treat, though I didn’t need a crate when my temp. foster family left the house since I wasn't destructive in the home. I came to Mostly Mutts with a little doggie friend (who has been adopted), & I enjoyed spending time with the calm dog in my first temp. foster home. I also met a few dogs at MM’s & liked them, though I’m not super playful, which is not unusual for an older fellow like me. I got along well with the 3 small dogs in my second temp. foster home, & I loved to chase squirrels with them in the backyard. I did have a scuffle with my furry foster sister one night when she ran into my crate as I was finishing up my dinner. My bowl was empty, but I did not like her invading my space. I didn’t hurt her, but I made sure to get her out of my crate & it scared her. Aside from this incident, I have been nothing but friendly, gentle, & patient with my doggie foster siblings. So, if you have a nice doggie at home, let’s meet to see if we can be friends, & please use caution at mealtimes until you know my habits. Skin issues & hair loss have left me not looking or feeling my best, but medicated baths already have me feeling better, & my hair has grown back & is looking much better.  I also have stiffness in my hips & some muscle loss in my hind quarters, which a daily Glucosamine supplement helps with as well as a medication for inflammation & pain that I should stay on. I don’t let my aging bones get me down at all, but a house with fewer stairs would be best for me, & I use a ramp to get into larger vehicles, which I don’t mind at all as I LOVE car rides! I loved the girls in my temp. foster home (ages 11 & 14), & I also met a nice 10-year-old boy & his younger sister at MM’s & did well with them. With my calm nature & lower energy level, I may enjoy kids around that age (ages 10+ or maybe slightly younger) in my home who understand that I don’t really want to play – but I do want your love & attention. I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped, neutered, & my adoption fee is $299.00 which also includes an engraved name tag, Martingale collar & leash.