Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/18/d608162863/htdocs/MostlyMuttsAnimalRescue/components/com_bt_portfolio/views/portfolio/tmpl/print.php on line 78

Nitro

Gender: Male
Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
Secondary Breed: Mix
Status: Adoptable

A SWEET & FUN SPECIAL NEEDS GUY:  7 years old / 19 lbs.  Mostly Mutts adoption center is open Mon-Sat. 11-4pm. Some of us are in foster homes so please call 770-272-6888 1st to find out if I’m available to meet during the week. I’m a sweet little guy who is very affectionate, loves belly rubs & cuddling. I bond deeply with the volunteers that spend time with me & with my foster mom! I know I’ll bond deeply with my new person or family too!  Sunning myself indoors & out is a favorite pastime of mine & I love playing with soft toys too.  A stay or work from home family member would be like hitting the lottery for me!  I’m a proud graduate of the Mostly Mutts University training program, & I’ve mastered the ‘sit’, ‘down’, ‘stay’, ‘come’, ‘leave-it’, ‘drop-it’ & ‘go to your place’ commands. I’ve also learned to wait at doors before going in/out on command & to greet nice strangers without jumping & I walk well on a leash with my harness. If you have a fence, please keep an eye on me as I like trying to find holes & digging out to go exploring. I’m happy to go for walks but am sometimes attracted to louder vehicles & will bark & pull towards them, so have good hold of my leash. I have an enlarged heart & have been diagnosed with hypertension & tachypnea. So, I’m on 2 heart medications that I’ll need for life. My enlarged heart is a genetic condition, & will likely shorten my life span a little, but long or short, I just want to enjoy life! Keeping me calmer is good, though not entirely realistic since I’m a moderate to higher energy guy, so let me be a dog within reason & know that I’m full of love to give! Ask for more details about this. I’ve been with MM’s since July 2018 & have been a doll, however I think being here this long is causing me shelter stress. In Dec. 2018 there were a few nipping incidents & a bite because I didn’t want to go back into my crate. Prior to these incidents, I hadn’t shown aggression to people at all. When I visit foster homes, I don’t show this behavior at all. My potty manners have been good on the shelter schedule & in my visiting foster homes too. I have soft fur & am a handsome & sweet fellow! I got along well with the other dog in my visiting foster home, & I like some of the dogs I’ve met at the MM facility, but I wasn’t fond of others, so I growled at them. If you have a nice doggie at home, let’s meet & see if we can be pals. When my visiting foster mom leaves the home, she crates me with a treat & that works for me, otherwise I tend to scratch at the home door & bark. I do bark a little when left alone, that’s why I’d love a stay/work from home family member. I sleep soundly & without incident in my crate when in my visiting fosters bedroom. No kids are best due to the crate/nipping & bite incidents. Energy level: 5-7. I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped, neutered, & my adoption fee is $100.00 which also includes an engraved name tag, Martingale collar & leash.