Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/18/d608162863/htdocs/MostlyMuttsAnimalRescue/components/com_bt_portfolio/views/portfolio/tmpl/print.php on line 78


Gender: Female
Breed: Labrador
Secondary Breed: Mix
Status: Adoptable

LEARNING ABOUT LOVE: 1 year old / 37 lbs.

Hello! My name is Samine! I was very scared when I came to Mostly Mutts from animal control. However, since being in a foster home & seeing how other dogs trust & interact with people, I’ve started to trust too. I really WANT to trust & love. With the help of my trainers & foster, I am very slowly opening up to the great life that is ahead of me!

• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: I LOVE the other dog in my foster home, I follow her lead & she is helping me to be more confident. We play hard together – a LOT! I MUST have another playful dog in my new home. I don’t think a smaller dog would be a good fit since I’m a hard player. So, if you have a dog that matches my energy level & temperament, let’s meet / I should not live with cats or other small animals (bunnies, ferrets, etc.), as I am way too interested in them / Because I am very slow to trust & commotion of children may cause me to bolt in fear, I should not live with children. Gentle, calm teenagers who are familiar with helping a reserved dog build trust may be fine in my new home, but - of course – let’s meet!

• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: I have been much slower to trust men, but my foster dad understands that I just need time to trust. I’ll need a man that is willing to be patient with me, take his time, being a strong leader in a quiet, calm manner. In general, I will need a very patient & dog-savvy owner who is willing to put forth the time & effort to build my confidence & show me how wonderful a loving home can be. I recently enjoyed outings with my foster family to an outdoor restaurant & a couple of parks! I met quite a few dogs & people that I liked & was well behaved. The cars driving by fast made me a little nervous, but I stayed calm / My energy level is 6-8 when I am comfortable.

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: I’m in the Mostly Mutts University training program where building trust in people is #1 on my list. I made great progress while in the Mostly Mutts’ prison foster training program as well as built some confidence & mastered the ‘sit’, ‘stay’, ‘come’, ‘leave it’, proper leash walking & waiting patiently to go through doors. I also ride very well in the car, although I’m still a bit nervous / In my foster home, I sleep in a crate when my foster family is gone. I love sleeping on a large dog bed in my foster’s bedroom with the other dog in the home. / My potty habits are excellent on a regular schedule. I hit a jingle bell with my nose by the door to let my foster family know when I need to go out to potty.

• LIKES/DISLIKES: I love going for leash walks, although I am nervous when vehicles drive by. I am still very much a puppy who loves to play. As for toys, the squeakier the better! I love the fenced yard in my foster home & will need a tall, secure fence to keep me safe. I like to counter surf, so I’ll need a bit more help with my house manners / I have likely had negative experiences with men in my past, so any man in my life will need to be very patient while I get to know them as it will take some time. New environments & loud situations take me some time to get used to.

• MEDICAL: I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped & spayed. I’m on a medication for anxiety, just ask about that.

I am looking for a patient, dog-savvy owner to provide stability and a loving home! My adoption fee is $299.00. I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.