Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/18/d608162863/htdocs/MostlyMuttsAnimalRescue/components/com_bt_portfolio/views/portfolio/tmpl/print.php on line 78

Smokey

Gender: Male
Breed: Dachshund
Status: Adoptable

READY FOR THE GOOD LIFE: 3 years old / 11 lbs.

Hello, my name is Smokey! I was fortunate enough to be rescued from a terrible puppy mill where I had spent my life as a breeder dog, not receiving love, but being used to make money. Little did I know that when I made my way to Mostly Mutts, my life would forever be changed for the better! I’m thankful to know that there are nice people who will show me kindness and patience as I navigate my new world.

•OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: No other dogs in my new home please. I can go for walks with other dogs, but in the home I have not done well with them, not sharing toys or my people and sometimes overreacting towards them when we I get excited or overstimulated / No kitties please / I’ve met kids at Mostly Mutts, and I can be slow to warm up, so best kids 15+ and older who will know how to interact with a recent puppy mill rescue.

•PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: I will likely take a little while to warm up, as I had no socialization prior to my rescue, but – once I choose you as a trusted human, I turn into a happy and playful ball of energy. I am also a very smart guy who minds well once I learn the rules. Let’s face it - I am some lucky family’s future loving companion / My energy level is moderate at around 4-6.

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: I entered the Mostly Mutts University training program soon after arriving at Mostly Mutts and quickly made my way to the head of the class. In fact, I am now an MMU graduate! My impressive list of mastered commands include: ‘sit’, ‘down’, ‘stay’, ‘come’, ‘leave it’, ‘drop it’, ‘go to your place’, ‘Proper Door Etiquette’, ‘How To Accept Friendly Strangers’ and ‘How To Walk On A Leash’ / My crate manners are good at Mostly Mutts. (I did chew a shoe when left out of my crate unattended while I was in the prison foster/training program / Given my history, I’m doing pretty well with my potty manners on the shelter schedule and I did pretty well in the prison foster/training program too. Just take me out consistently please. I have also signaled to go outside by going to the door several times. But will need to be watched in any new environment.

• LIKES/DISLIKES: I enjoy toys, chasing the tennis ball and I LOVE running in the grass. I am a great snuggler and would like to sleep in bed with my people, if allowed / I would not want to be rushed to warm up to my people. Give me a little time, and I will love you as my trust grows.

• MEDICAL: I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped and neutered.

I am looking for a wonderful home where I can live my very best life with a loving family! My adoption fee is $299.00, and I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.