Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/18/d608162863/htdocs/MostlyMuttsAnimalRescue/components/com_bt_portfolio/views/portfolio/tmpl/print.php on line 78

Sophia

Gender: Female
Breed: Labrador
Secondary Breed: Mix
Status: Adoptable
LOOKING FOR A GOOD LEADER:  1 year old / 47 lbs.
 
Hi, my name is Sophia! I came to Mostly Mutts from animal control & I got to participate in the prison foster/training program, which I totally enjoyed!  Now I’m ready to find a wonderful dog savvy family that will treasure me & continue my good training! 
 
• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS:  When I first came to Mostly Mutts, I was unsure about how to interact with dogs. I did try to play with some, but I also tried to bite others. However, after working with my trainer & having lots of successful playdates with other dogs, I now feel comfortable interacting & playing with most dogs. However, I have a dominant female personality, & sometimes I’ll meet a dog that I just don’t like. When on my walks or hikes, I like most of the dogs I come across though if the other dog reacts, I may also react, but I stop when firmly told to ‘leave it’. So, if you have a friendly doggie at home let’s meet to see if we can be pals. / Cats unknown / I should not live with kids as I’ve had some negative reactions towards them, like barking, jumping & growling at them. 
 
• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL:  I am a sweet, playful, attentive, loving dog who wants to please my people!  I can be a bit slow to warm up upon first meeting, but – I do love people, so it doesn’t take me long to welcome you as a new friend & give you my paw for a friendly handshake.  I can have a bit of a protective nature & don’t always approve of everyone who enters my home, but a dog savvy person can let me know that it’s all good.  I’d benefit from a fenced yard to run in, & sniff out the critters, though this isn’t required.  Energy Level: 6-8 so I’ll need regular exercise & playtimes!
 
• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY:  I’m a proud graduate of the Mostly Mutts University training program. I’ve learned the ‘sit’, ‘stay’, ‘paw’, ‘down’, ‘come’, ‘drop it’, ‘leave it’, & ‘go to your place’ commands, proper door etiquette, accepting friendly strangers without jumping, & loose leash walking (with my special leash & a good leader).  I may momentarily forget my leash manners when I see a squirrel, so keep a good hold of my leash please. I ride well in the car too. / I also have good crate manners (toss some toys in there please), & I did well for up to 3 hours alone (no crate) when I was in the MM prison foster/training program. / My potty manners have been good on the shelter schedule & in my temporary foster homes too.
 
• LIKES/DISLIKES:  I like belly rubs, going for walks & collecting my toys in a pile – so cute!  I love hiking with the volunteers & want to do that with my family. I also love water & am especially fascinated by the froth/bubbles the hose makes when filling up a kiddie pool for me to play in when it’s hot. I also had a blast frolicking in the lake on my long leash! 
 
• MEDICAL:   I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped & spayed.  Come meet me & let’s see if we’re a great match!  My adoption fee is $100, (originally $299 but a generous volunteer who loves me paid $199) & I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.