Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/18/d608162863/htdocs/MostlyMuttsAnimalRescue/components/com_bt_portfolio/views/portfolio/tmpl/print.php on line 78

Talbot

Gender: Male
Breed: Labrador
Secondary Breed: Hound
Status: Adoptable

A SWEET & SILLY DEAF GUY:  11 years old / 46 lbs.   Mostly Mutts adoption facility is open Mon-Sat. 11-4pm.  Some of us are in foster homes so please call 770-272-6888 1st to find out if I’m available to meet during the week. I’m a sweet deaf older guy who loves head scratches & nice leisurely walks with my people. I mind well on my walks too. I’m very sweet & affectionate - enjoying belly rubs & playing with stuffed toys which is adorable.  I lived with my previous foster family for about a year, but they had to move so now I live at the shelter. I miss them so much, but I’m thankful for the loving home they provided me! I liked it when my foster family played with me with their hands, like a gentle kind of rough housing. Funny, I know! They called me a people pleaser, & once I settled in & got familiar with my new surroundings, my lovable personality just blossomed. Since I’m deaf & seem to have some memory loss, it took a few days. I’m happy to lay on the couch with you & I slept on the first floor in my foster home – too many stairs aren’t good for my older bones, so fewer to none is best. I was quiet in general & only barked a little when I was in my crate & in the car. After a while, I no longer needed a crate in my foster home, which is good because it's not my favorite place. I’m very treat/food motivated, & I take treats best from a flat hand & have learned to take them gently. I’ll do anything for cheese.  I also like to follow you around if you have food, just in case you drop something for me. Since I’m an older fellow, I have some sight loss which is normal for an older guy, but the vet looked at my eyes & there were no concerns. I have severe arthritis & a possible slipped disk, so I’m taking medication for pain & inflammation & will likely need to continue taking these for the rest of my life. Due to the pain from my arthritis & sore back, please don’t pet me near my hips & I don’t like being picked up & will bite to let you know this. I don’t bite hard, but I need to be muzzled to be bathed & picked up. I can get into regular cars & small SUV’s, but I have trouble getting into larger vehicles, so I’ve learned how to use a ramp! My potty manners were fairly good once I learned the routine & with frequent let outs, so hopefully that will be the case in my new home. I did have some pee accidents in my recent temp. foster home, I may have been a little confused about my new surroundings, & I can’t hold it as long as I used to. For this reason, I’d love a family member that’s home a good bit, & I think a long day at home alone may make me sad. I should be your only dog as I’ve not reacted well to the other dogs I’ve met.  However, I met a kitty at the shelter & was respectful to her. Energy level: 3-5. I’d be best with older kids that are gentle & good with dogs as I have a habit of jumping up on folks when I'm excited & due to my soreness & reaction to it. I’m taking a medication that has really helped me during storms – now I just shake a little. Check out my Instagram page (Talbot @tenderspotfortalbot) for some seriously handsome photos of me! I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped, neutered, & my adoption fee is $100.00 which also includes an engraved name tag, Martingale collar & leash.