Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/18/d608162863/htdocs/MostlyMuttsAnimalRescue/components/com_bt_portfolio/views/portfolio/tmpl/print.php on line 78


Gender: Female
Breed: Husky
Secondary Breed: Australian Shepherd
Status: Adoptable

THRIVING ON LOVE:  6 years old / 37 lbs.  Mostly Mutts adoption center is open Mon-Sat. 11-4pm.  Some of us are in foster homes so please call 770-272-6888 1st to find out if I’m available to meet during the week.  Hi, my name is Wilene!  I am a sweet girl and an absolute example of how resilient dogs can be when they are given the love, attention and the care they deserve.  You see, I came to Mostly Mutts in pretty rough shape – almost total hair loss from non-contagious mange, overgrown nails, sores on my ears and – on top of everything else – heart worm positive.   Enter the kind volunteers with their sweet voices and great veterinary team with their knowledge of how to meet my needs and – with lots of care, good food, and medicated baths - I am already looking and feeling much better! My unique coloring and overall look sparked the curiosity of the folks at Mostly Mutts, and they had a guessing contest, and all chipped in for a doggie DNA test. There’s a copy of it in my file for my furever family to check out, and it turns out I’m 50% Siberian Husky, and 12.5% Australian Shepherd, Golden Retriever and Chinese Shar-Pei with another 12.5 % of several other breeds. I am quickly learning that people are a great source of love and petting … and I like giving them kisses!  I will sit in your lap as long as you let me, soaking up attention – on which I thrive. I bonded quickly with my trainer in the Mostly Mutts University training program, which made training fun, so it’s no surprise I’ve earned my doggie diploma. That’s right – I'm an MMU graduate, and I’ve mastered the ‘sit’, ’stay’, ‘down’, ‘come’, ‘drop it’, ‘leave it’, and ‘go to your place’ commands as well as proper door etiquette, accepting friendly strangers without jumping, and loose leash walking. Speaking of leash walking, I really enjoy my daily walks, and a special harness works best for me so just ask about that. I ride well in the car, so maybe we can take some walks together at a nearby park once I’ve completed my HW treatment.  I’ve recently discovered how fun toys are, so I would love a good variety in my new home. We can play together, and I’ll show you how fun they are too! I have good potty habits on the shelter schedule, so hopefully that will be the case in my new home too. I met a few dogs at the MM facility and liked them, so if you have a friendly doggie at home, let’s meet to see if we can be pals!  I seem to like males the most! A home with older kids (ages 15+) is what I need as I met some kids at the shelter, and I wasn’t very interested in them and they even made me a little jumpy. Energy level: Currently 3-5 (possibly 4-6 later when I am feeling top notch and settled in my new home).  As mentioned above, I wasn't kept on Heart Worm prevention in my previous home, so I'm HW positive. The good news is that I'll be treated for that very soon, and Mostly Mutts will cover the cost of that treatment with one of their vets.  I hope to be with my family before treatment starts!  I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped, spayed, and my adoption fee is $299.00 which also includes an engraved name tag, Martingale collar and leash.